20.6.17

ARC #Review: AFTERCARE INSTRUCTIONS by Bonnie Pipkin

AFTERCARE INSTRUCTIONS

Author: Bonnie Pipkin
Series: N/A
Source: eARC via Publisher
Publisher: Flatiron
Publication Date: June 27, 2017
Rating: 4/5 stars

Summary:
In the tradition of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell, a big-hearted journey of furious friendship, crazy love, and unexpected hope after a teen's decision to end an unwanted pregnancy

“Troubled.” That’s seventeen-year-old Genesis according to her small New Jersey town. She finds refuge and stability in her relationship with her boyfriend, Peter—until he abandons her at a Planned Parenthood clinic during their appointment to terminate an unwanted pregnancy. The betrayal causes Gen to question everything.

As Gen pushes herself forward to find her new identity without Peter, she must also confront her most painful memories. Through the lens of an ongoing four act play within the novel, the fantasy of their undying love unravels line by line, scene by scene. Digging deeper into her past while exploring the underground theater world of New York City, she rediscovers a long-forgotten dream. But it’s when Gen lets go of her history, the one she thinks she knows, that she’s finally able to embrace the complicated, chaotic true story of her life, and take center stage.


This powerfully immersive and format-crushing debut follows Gen from dorm rooms to diners to house parties to auditions—and ultimately, right into readers’ hearts.
Purchase:
Amazon | Chapters | TBD
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book and decided to review it. This in no way impacts my opinions of the book.

This was really enjoyable and I loved the story and the characters but I wasn't a huge fan of the format with the flashbacks being in script. I think I would have enjoyed it more without that aspect. But I still really liked it! I think if you are a fan of heavy contemporary novels, this is one for you. The characters, the story, everything really worked for me.

5.5.17

Subscription Box #Review: My SciFi Club

I love surprises and subscription boxes so I decided to buy a few different ones and then review them for you guys because why not! So you will get to see a few different subscription box reviews over the next few weeks because they all arrived!

Just so everyone knows, I live in Canada, so the prices and such that I am going to talk about are in Canadian Dollars and shipping times are international from the US to Canada as well. 

My SciFi Club

Where To Buy? 

CrateJoy

How Often Does It Come? 

Every Month and you can choose either specific Science Fiction, Fantasy, or surprise me. I bought a "Surprise Me" box.


Price?

Each My SciFi Crate: $14.99USD/month plus shipping

Six Months: $12.99USD/month plus shipping; total of $77.95 USD plus shipping

Twelve Months: $11.92USD/month plus shipping; total of $143.00 USD plus shipping

Free shipping to the US and $10USD shipping to Canada



Shipping Time?

It ships on during the first week of the month and took literally two days to get to my US mailbox. 


Ordering Process?

Because My SciFi Club is connected to CrateJoy, the ordering process is really easy. Especially if you use CrateJoy often, then it saves all your information. 

2.5.17

ARC #Review: TEXTROVERT by Lindsey Summers

TEXTROVERT

Author: Lindsey Summers
Series: N/A
Source: ARC via Publisher
Publisher: KidsCanPress
Publication Date: May 2, 2017
Rating: 3.5/5 stars

Summary:

It’s bad enough when high-school senior Keeley grabs the wrong phone while leaving her small town’s end-of-summer fair. It’s even worse when she discovers that the phone she now has belongs to the obnoxious, self-centered Talon and that he’s just left for football camp … with her phone. Reluctantly, the two agree to forward messages for a week. And as Keeley gets to know Talon, she starts to like him. Keeley learns there’s more to Talon than the egocentric jock most people see. There’s more to Keeley, too. Texting Talon, she can step out of the shadow of her popular twin brother. Texting Talon, she can be the person she’s always wanted to be. 

Sparks fly when the two finally meet to exchange their phones. But while Keeley has been playing a part online, Talon has been keeping a secret. He has a different connection to Keeley — one that has nothing to do with phones, and one that will make their new relationship all but impossible. Knowing what she now knows, can Keeley trust him? And can love in the present erase mistakes of the past?

Purchase:
Disclaimer: I received a free copy of this book and decided to review it. This in no way affects my opinion.

This book was super adorable and exactly what I needed at the time. It was light and fluffy but also had some more serious moments and thoughts of introspection that made me think. However there were some moments that I rolled my eyes and said "That wouldn't happen" and it was very obvious that the author didn't go to high school where Football Was Life because the boys would NEVER be allowed to have their cellphones on the sideline or they would be murdered. 

27.4.17

Subscription Box #Review: Nerdy Post

I love surprises and subscription boxes so I decided to buy a few different ones and then review them for you guys because why not! So you will get to see a few different subscription box reviews over the next few weeks because they all arrived!

Just so everyone knows, I live in Canada, so the prices and such that I am going to talk about are in Canadian Dollars and shipping times are international from the US to Canada as well. 

Nerdy Post/Nerdy Tees

Where To Buy? 

CrateJoy

How Often Does It Come? 

Every Month and each month has a new theme. I bought just the Nerdy Post and the theme for the month was "Disney."


Price?

Each Nerdy Post Crate: $13.95USD/month plus shipping
Shipping to Canada is $9.00USD; Shipping to the US is $6.00USD, so it wasn't worth it for me to ship it to the US and then pick it up as it would cost me more money.

Each Nerdy Tees Crate: $15.95USD/month plus shipping
Shipping to Canada is $9.00USD; Shipping to the US is $6.00 USD


Shipping Time?

It ships on the 15th of the month, and I believe mine arrived to my Canadian address within 10 days. 


Ordering Process?

Because Nerdy Post is connected to CrateJoy, the ordering process is really easy. Especially if you use CrateJoy often, then it saves all your information. That means that it is super easy to purchase, cancel, skip a month, etc.